You Are Here: Home » Health » How to Stop Your Old Facebook Statuses from Haunting You

How to Stop Your Old Facebook Statuses from Haunting You

Tech facebook 300x219 How to Stop Your Old Facebook Statuses from Haunting YouFacebook recently began rolling out a tweak that makes it easier than ever to resurface old statuses, check-ins, photo captions and comments posted by your friends.

When Facebook first launched Graph Search in January, the feature let you find profiles, photos and likes — but not status updates or a wider variety of the activities people do on Facebook. Now, old posts intended for a circle of college friends can be easily called up by all your current friends — like your boss, mother or significant other — underscoring Facebook’s growth from an intimate collegiate community to a global behemoth. That includes postings about being “drunk” (or “high”), and ones with profanity.

Nothing about the privacy status of any old posting has changed. Status updates and photos tagged for friends only, for friends of friends or for Facebook’s whole network will remain that way. But posts once buried in people’s Timelines under lots of scrolling and clicks can now be readily found with a few keystrokes in the search bar.

Fortunately, there are a few ways you can shore up the privacy on old posts. Method #1

Go to your settings page, click on “Privacy” and then “Limit Past Posts.” You’ll see this warning:

Facebook will sternly warn you that this “global change can’t be undone in one click.” Just click “Confirm.” This takes posts previously set to “Public,” and therefore viewable to all of Facebook, and makes them shared with only “Friends.”

Method #2

Go to your privacy page (again, here) and click on “Use Activity Log.”

From there, you’ll get a reverse-chronological list of all your Facebook activity through the years. (Kinda creepy.) You can go one by one (by one by one…) and edit the audience for each post.

Here you can take statuses previously tagged “Public” to “Friends” or “Only Me,” if you really want no one to see it. And for truly regretful postings, click on the pencil to the right and hit “Delete.”

Share This Story!

    About The Author

    Number of Entries : 4272
    Scroll to top