You Are Here: Home » Sports » LeBron James Wins MVP Award for Fourth Time

LeBron James Wins MVP Award for Fourth Time

LeBron James

By Tim Reynolds

LeBron James is getting his fourth Most Valuable Player award with 120 of 121 possible first-place votes.

The Miami Heat star was announced as the award winner on Sunday, May 5. James will become the fifth player with at least four MVP awards, joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Michael Jordan, Bill Russell and Wilt Chamberlain.

James averaged 26.8 points, 8.0 rebounds and 7.3 assists this season, shooting a career-best 56 percent. It was absolutely no surprise that he won the award, and given the timetable for Miami’s next game – the Heat don’t open Eastern Conference semifinal play until Monday night against Brooklyn or Chicago – it had been widely assumed for several days that Sunday would be the day.

“I absolutely have not even thought about it,” James said when asked before the announcement if he considered the weight of winning the award four times in five years. “I have not thought about it, until you just brought it up. I know the history. It would be a unique, unbelievable class I would be a part of, so we’ll see.”

Only Russell had won four MVPs in five years, and only Abdul-Jabbar had gone back-to-back on the award twice. Abdul-Jabbar has six MVPs in all, Jordan and Russell have five apiece and Chamberlain won four.

James won the award in 2009 and 2010, only got four first-place votes in 2011 – his first season with the Heat – then reclaimed the award last season.

Share This Story!

    About The Author

    Number of Entries : 10098
    Scroll to top