You Are Here: Home » Front Page » Meet Oxnard’s new City Council

Meet Oxnard’s new City Council

Jose Andrade, Commissioner; Bert E. Perello, Councilmember; Carmen Ramírez, Esq., Mayor Pro Tem; Tim Flynn, Mayor; Bryan A. MacDonald, Councilmember; Dorina Padilla, Councilmember; Francisco Vega, Commissioner; and Greg Nyhoff, City Manager (Photo Credit: Robert Jeffreys)

The Oxnard City Council consists of an elected mayor holding a two-year term and four councilmembers elected at large for four-year overlapping terms. After each election, the mayor appoints one of the councilmembers to serve as mayor pro tem to preside over City Council functions in the mayor’s absence. The City Council governs the city in a manner that promotes a sound financial base, and responds to the current and future needs and concerns of city residents and businesses. To accomplish this, the Council appoints the city manager and city attorney, enacts city ordinances, establishes policy for administrative staff, and approves and oversees the budget of expenditures for the city.

Former Oxnard Mayor Manuel Lopez and wife Irma (Photo Credit: Robert Jeffreys)

The Council also serves as the board of the City of Oxnard Financing Authority (COFA), the city’s Community Development Commission Successor Agency, and, supplemented by two tenant commissioners, serves as the city’s Housing Authority.

Weekly meetings are held on Tuesdays 6:00 p.m. in Council Chambers located at 305 West 3rd St., in downtown Oxnard.

Share This Story!

    About The Author

    Number of Entries : 10098
    Scroll to top