Tiger Woods Disagrees with 2-Shot Penalty at BMW Championship
By Doug Ferguson
LAKE FOREST, Ill. — Even after watching video evidence, Tiger Woods still doesn’t think he deserved a two-shot penalty at the BMW Championship.
Woods was docked two shots at the end of his second round when his ball moved ever so slightly behind the first green. Video from a camera man hired by PGA Tour Entertainment showed the golf ball dip down as Woods was removing a twig before playing a shot from the trees.
Woods argued that it only oscillated, returning to its original position. The chief rules official at the PGA Tour determined otherwise.
“As I said, from my vantage point, I thought it just oscillated and that was it,” Woods said after shooting a 5-under 66 at Conway Farms. “They replayed it again and again and again. And I felt the same way.”
Slugger White, vice president of competition for the PGA Tour, said Woods did not take the penalty easily.
“He was a little disbelieving. How’s that?” White said. Woods did not argue with that description.
“I was pretty hot because I felt like nothing happened,” Woods said. “I felt like the ball oscillated and that was it. I played the rest of the round grinding my tail off to get myself back in the tournament, and then go from five to seven behind. That was tough.”